Menu

Histroy

Weingut Leitner has been property of the family for generations. From the beginning it was maintained as an agricultural business with mixed focus, like all other businesses in Gols.

1975

Melitta and Matthias Leitner took over the enterprise, which, until 1990, was operated as a side business. The decisive reorientation towards quality and bottling of wines into a "Bouteille" started as soon as the early 80s. First national and international validation starting from the year 1985 showed that the focus on quality proved to be a successful strategy.

1991

the next substantial turnaround took place when Matthias Leitner quit his job as a travelling salesman to focus exclusively on winegrowing. In those years the area cultivated grew to approximately 10.5 ha.

1995

the first Syrah was harvested as one of the first in Austria. The favourite variety of Matthias Leitner would prove to be responsible for numerous national and international successes.

2003

Gernot Leitner joined his parents' business fulltime and took over in 2011. The focus towards top quality was further strengthened and reorientation towards wines from a single grape variety was perpetuated. New wines like St. Laurent or Zweigelt from Altenberg entered the range.

 

 

Weingut Leitner, Syrahtrauben

Menu

Geschichte

 

Das Weingut Leitner ist seit Generationen im Familienbesitz. Von Beginn weg wurde es wie auch alle anderen Betriebe in Gols, als landwirtschaftlicher Mischbetrieb geführt.

1975

übernahmen Melitta und Matthias Leitner den Betrieb, der bis 1990 im Nebenerwerb geführt wurde. Die entscheidende Neuorientierung auf Qualität und Abfüllen der Weine in die Bouteille - begann bereits Anfang der 80er Jahre. Erste nationale und internationale Bestätigungen ab dem Jahr 1985 zeigten, dass die Qualitätsstrategie erfolgreich war.

1991

fand die nächste große Wende statt, als Matthias Leitner seinen Beruf als Handelsreisender aufgab, um sich ausschließlich dem Weinbau zu widmen. In diesen Jahren ist die bewirtschaftete Fläche des Weingutes auf ca. 10,5 ha angewachsen.

1995

wurde der erste reinsortige Syrah geerntet. Der damals einer der Ersten in Österreich war. Die Lieblingssorte von Matthias Leitner sollte auch in den kommenden Jahren für viele nationale und internationale Erfolge verantwortlich sein.

2003

steigt Gernot Leitner hauptberuflich im elterlichen Betrieb ein und übernimmt diesen im Jahr 2011. Die Ausrichtung auf Top Qualität wurde gesteigert, und die Neuorientierung auf sortenreine Lagenweine ausgebaut. Es kamen neue Weine wie St. Laurent oder Zweigelt vom Altenberg hinzu.

 

 

Weingut Leitner, Syrahtrauben