Menu

Red Wine

 

Besides the choice of soil and vine variety, a decision of lasting impact, the work in the vineyard is of particular significance. The right moment for thinning out and cutting the vines,for foliage treatment etc. needs to be found. One the one hand, the point of peak ripeness can be measured, on the other hand, only sensoric testing of the berries’ skin and cores give the final impulse for starting the harvest.

Fermentation is a spontaneous process. Zweigelt, Blaufränkisch and Zechun from Heideboden are fermented in stainless steel tanks. All other premium charges for Pannobile Rot or for our vintage wines are fermented in open vats or wooden barrels. The must is only moved by hand.

Particularly important for us is the time between fermentation and the pressing process, which varies from variety to variety and vintage wine to vintage wine.

Part of malolactic fermentation (biological decomposition of acidity) takes place right away in the fermentation container but also after the pressing process in large and small wooden barrels.

Besides the choice of soil and vine variety, a decision of lasting impact, theWood, for us, is necessary for every red wine, not necessarily only for premium products but also for less complex wines. Here, we either use large wooden barrels or barriques which have been utilised several times before.

Barrique barrels are used carefully. Percentages of new wood, toasting and duration of the ripening process are chosen in such a way that the particular character of individual wines is conserved.

We seal the wines from Heideboden with a screwtop because they can be consumed right after we start to sell them. The premium wines are sealed with cork. They are supposed to continue to ripen in the bottle it takes a few years until they are at their peak.

Menu

Rotwein

Nach der Boden-/Sortenwahl, eine Entscheidung von sehr langfristiger Auswirkung, ist die Arbeit im Weingarten von besonderer Bedeutung. Es muss der richtige Zeitpunkt zum Ausdünnen, für den Rebschnitt, die Laubarbeit usw. gefunden werden. Der optimale Reifezeitpunkt kann zwar anhand einiger analytischer Parameter gemessen werden, aber letztlich gibt die sensorische Prüfung der Schalenhäute und der Traubenkerne den Ausschlag für den Erntebeginn.

Die Vergärung erfolgt spontan. Zweigelt, Blaufränkisch und Zechun vom Heideboden vergären in Edelstahltanks. Alle anderen premium Chargen für Pannobile Rot oder für unsere Lagenweine vergären in offenen Bottichen oder in Holzfässern. Die Maische wird nur händisch bewegt.

Sehr wichtig für uns ist die Maischestandzeit, also die Dauer zwischen Vergärung und Abpressung, die für die einzelnen Sorten und Lagenweine unterschiedlich lange ausfällt.

Die Malolaktik (biologischer Säureabbau) findet zum Teil während der Maischestandzeit gleich im Gärbehälter oder nach dem Pressen in großen und kleinen Holzfässern statt.

Holz ist für uns bei jedem Rotwein nötig, nicht unbedingt nur bei den Premiumprodukten, sondern auch bei den weniger komplexen Weinen. Hier verwenden wir entweder große Holzfässer oder mehrmals gebrauchte Barriques.

Der Einsatz von Barriques erfolgt sehr behutsam. Die Anteile, von neuem Holz, das Toasting und die Reifedauer werden so gewählt, dass der Charakter der Weine erhalten bleibt.

Wir verschließen die Weine vom Heideboden mit Schraubverschluss, da sie ein paar Monate nach dem Verkaufstart antrinkbar sind. Die Premiumweine sind mit Naturkork verschlossen, sie sollen in der Flasche nachreifen und brauchen ein paar Jahre bis am Höhepunkt sind.